LOOKING FOR NEW POSTS?: 3 Reasons I Moved to a Self-Hosted Website.


I’ve noticed some may have missed that I am no longer posting on this website. That’s okay if you have, I’ve not forgotten about you. But, if you want to continue receiving updates you’ll want to make the move with me.

jbsisma.com did not go away. It’s still there. I have made the choice to moving from WordPress.COM to a self-hosted WordPress.ORG website. It was a tough decision, as WordPress is completely free to use. But I have some issues with that.

1. WordPress.COM, while free, does not allow you to monetize. This is a huge issue for me. While I love WordPress.COM I wanted to take my website to the next level and get affiliates to help pay for the cost of the website. Now not everyone loves advertisements, and right now I don’t have any. But I wanted the window open for that.

2. Hosting is cheaper elsewhere. One of the biggest frustrations I’ve had is I was being charged over $60 a year in hosting. What did I get with that amount of money?

  • A domain name: jbsisam.com instead of jbsisam.wordpress.com. One is much easier to remember, the other is difficult and looks unprofessional.
  • They charged for a subdomain. I purchased from WordPress.COM blog.jbsisam.com. Where through Bluehost is free.
  • They charged me to remove ads from the website. I’m not a big fan of ads I cannot control. In-fact, I would not be paid by WordPress to have the ads on my website. So, I chose to remove them altogether.

3. I wanted control and offer more features to my community. I began blogging on the WordPress system in late 2009. It was great. In-fact, the community here is outstanding. But, I knew if I wanted to take my business to the next level, I needed to maintain control of every aspect of my website. So what do you get in my new website?

I wanted to create a great user experience. And, if you’ve not subscribed to my enewsletter, I encourage you to do so today. You’ll get updates to each new blog post and I’ll give you a free ebook as my way of saying thank you.

So, what are you waiting for… check out the new J. B. Sisam website. Make sure to bookmark the new site because I will not be updating this site any longer – however, all the archive content is still available here.

CHECK OUT THE NEW…  JBSISAM.COM

Leave a Reply

